Home pages and MySpaces, email updates and electronic press kits, online CD hosting and fansite forums the news on a CD release or a world tour or a Conan appearance hums across the wires with crackling digital efficiency, clean and timely and ruthlessly targeted.So it comes as something of a relief that the press kit for Gregory Alan Isakov's CD release party at the Fox was an Office Depot CD-R in a plain cardboard sleeve, notes on the songs and contact information handwritten by Isakov's manager. ?Isakov is a gardener by trade - he even got a degree in horticulture from Naropa University. Gregory Alan Isakov (born October 19, 1979) is a South African-born singer-songwriter currently based in Boulder, Colorado. "It's a really small program, but I did get to study for a year in Scotland. No, its something more than that something larger than space and place. Stream Gregory Alan Isakov music | Listen to songs, albums, playlists He spent time in Jerusalem, where he studied desert survival skills and Hebrew, and also traveled to Egypt and Dahab. Folk musicians, singer-songwriters and unplugged versions of rock bands constitute a huge swath of the music empire, one that never really goes away. When an artist can shush a room full of jaded peers and media types, as Gregory did at the Westword music showcase VIP nomination party recently, it's a major nod to the talent he posseses as a performer. He is man that wants to live and work, in earnest. Gregory Alan Isakov and his band performed in the northeast at two sold-out shows this past week. The songs are studies in restraint and richly literate narrative, the plaintive but deceptively well-hewn vocal style murmuring at times, running short of breath on the payoff line sometimes, coyly deflecting the listeners' attention, daring them to find the sparkling dime in a sunlit pool of river pebbles.Last Thursday night, Isakov's CDs were piled at the corner of the merch table at the Fox. I guess I've never been part of either