I am a high school history teacher because of my 8th grade and 11th grade history teachers. Teaching poetry this month, or exploring the various meanings of words and phrases as part of your literacy standards? Simile Worksheets A simile is a descriptive phrase that people use to compare one thing with another. A simile is a figure of speech that's used to draw comparisons between two different things. Simile Worksheets A simile is a descriptive phrase that people use to compare one thing with another. The The Story of My Life quotes below all refer to the symbol of Nature. Simile: My mom was busy as a bee. Personification. For all humans. , After a half decade away, the award-winning. Teaching takes time to build up a students knowledge and skills. Practise identifying and creating examples of figurative language with this printable worksheet. New to teaching this part of the English curriculum or just looking for a quick reminder? x Searching, we find him trembling behind bushes, camouflaged. Digging deeper, it can be helpful for students to have examples . Help support our writers and keep our site ad-free. Of course the school definition is too narrow. ). Copyright 2023 Helpful Professor. A simile is a figure of speech that directly compares two unlike things. You looked after everyone, even the backbenchers. Dickinson uses simile to paint a picture of how a book can take us to far off places instantly. Simile. I use the words like and as all the time! For example, As fresh as a daisy. Simile A simile is a metaphor that uses like or as in the comparison. 3. Who is Kayla Lemieux, trans teacher with Z-size prosthetic breasts? I use the words like and as . Recommended articles lists articles that we recommend and is powered by our AI driven recommendation engine. Not that the distinction itself (simile = A is like B; metaphor = A really is B) is very important (grammarians just like it because it seems easy to understand and teach). Have I been talking in similes m